Mod: More Milk

Screenshot-388

I’ve got a fever, and the only prescription is MORE MILK!!! =^.^=

The cow shed is one of my absolute favourite items! I couldn’t believe it when we FINALLY got cows in The Sims, I’d been hoping for them for so long!!! The cows are adorable, and I love that tinkle noise the cowbell makes. I really like farming in the game, but I found that that the cows don’t really work well in a farming scenario. We can get milk and cheese, sure, but we can’t sell the milk as it has no value. And I wanted the cows to produce a BUCKET of milk, not just one teeny bottle per milking.

I couldn’t work out the bucket! ๐Ÿ˜„ But what I COULD do was give the milk a value of $10. A bit high for a bottle of milk, you might thing, but a farmer has to earn a living right? All the different varieties of milk are now $10. They can also be sold with Ani’s Savvier Seller mod.

sell milk

savvymilk

I also removed the cool down period between milkings. This means sims can repeatedly milk the cow without having to wait for hours in between. It’s ok… the cows enjoy it.

get milk

I also tuned a couple of other settings. I made the cow more likely to accept food. I dislike the cow tipping interaction so I made it harder to tip the cow, and also made it so sims can’t do it autonomously. Finally, I gave the cowbell moodlet a slightly larger range, so sims will be more likely to hear it. Now sims can finally have a small farm shop!

Screenshot-387

Screenshot-386

Just unzip the file and pop the package into your mods/package folder.

Click here to download!

Enjoy! =^.^=

6 thoughts on “Mod: More Milk

  1. This mod is just what I was looking for. Thank you!
    I’m wondering if I’m doing something wrong, though – it doesn’t seem to want to work with me.
    After the sim milks the cow the first time, the ‘Get Milk’ interaction is still greyed out and I have to wait 60 mins to be able to milk again. And if/when I try to sell the milk the price is still ยง0, not ยง10.
    What could be blocking this mod to work?
    Thank you for any help in advance

    Like

  2. Thanks for replying!
    Yep I cleared all the caches, I do that at every start-up.
    I just figured out what it is. The ‘accessoryMilkBottle’ OBJD was blocking the tunings. As you made it a default replacement (for the ยง10 price tag to be enabled) in package form, I had to put it in the mods>overrides folder for it to work.
    I’m not sure if you do this, but normally I install my store objects as extracted packages so this wouldn’t need to be done, but I forgot I just purchased the Farm Fresh set, didn’t ‘decrap’ it as I usually do and let Launcher install the sims3pack. Your mod didn’t seem to want to work with it like that while it was in the normal mods folder (EA security thing?) and I couldn’t see what else in my game would be conflicting with it.
    Anyway, once I moved it to overrides, it worked perfectly! So, I don’t know…its weird, eh? lol

    Looking for a mod like this was pure laziness on my part actually, because I could’ve used NRaas Retuner to disable the autonomous ‘tipping the cow’ interactions, change the bell radius and the milk cooldown myself, but I really couldn’t be bothered to search for all the tunings and I really liked that your milk could be sold with Ani’s mod, that was the big seller ๐Ÿ™‚

    So, after much pulling of hair, everything works as it should. Thanks again for your mod and reply.
    Now I can go ahead and try out your other mods! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • That’s so weird! I just install my store stuff the EA way, and I had the milk mod in ‘packages’. Hmmm… I wonder why it’s different for each of us then?

      It’s good advice though, for other people. If it doesn’t work with one, try the other.

      I’m really happy you got it working in the end! And that I could be helpful to you in making the milk sellable. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for your feedback too. I can keep my eye on that now. I wonder if it might help me too: I’m flummoxed as to why some things haven’t been working for me lately. I could try putting things in different folders next time something isn’t working.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for a very neat mod! I was wondering if you take requests? I loved beeing able to turn milk into cheese, but was very confused and disappointed that soymilk can’t be turned into tofu. It’s basicly the same process only making tofu is easier, so I don’t know why EA did not add this interaction to begin with. ๐Ÿ˜›
    Love
    //Sara

    Like

Leave a Reply

